Bus Network Review

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

In July 2018 we made major changes to Wellington city's bus transport network.

As with any project of this size, it’s usual to review outcomes to check how we did against key objectives, what we learned and what still needs to happen.

We've been listening.

Metlink has held drop-in workshops around Wellington to get your views on how changes to the City Bus Network are working for you. We have also run two online surveys for those who couldn't attend the drop-ins.

The Bus Network Review has run from July to September 2019 and has been very generously supported by bus customers. Thank you to everyone who has contributed to the Bus Network Review.

The constructive feedback given on what works and what doesn’t has been used to inform a set of network recommendations that will be phased in over three years. Metlink has listened, developed a package of recommended network improvements, and laid out a time-lined action plan to deliver and/or consider the recommended developments and improvements.

We know many people have been negatively impacted by the July 2018 changes and the recommendations and associated actions seek to address known issues over time.

The review recommendations and associated action plan go before Council 12 December 2019. There are plans to look at how we will connect with the rest of the Wellington region in 2020. This will include Porirua, Hutt Valley, Kapiti Coast and Wairarapa.

Subscribe for Bus Network Review updates by using the Register button at the top right of this page.

Click here to view previously published reports and media releases.

In July 2018 we made major changes to Wellington city's bus transport network.

As with any project of this size, it’s usual to review outcomes to check how we did against key objectives, what we learned and what still needs to happen.

We've been listening.

Metlink has held drop-in workshops around Wellington to get your views on how changes to the City Bus Network are working for you. We have also run two online surveys for those who couldn't attend the drop-ins.

The Bus Network Review has run from July to September 2019 and has been very generously supported by bus customers. Thank you to everyone who has contributed to the Bus Network Review.

The constructive feedback given on what works and what doesn’t has been used to inform a set of network recommendations that will be phased in over three years. Metlink has listened, developed a package of recommended network improvements, and laid out a time-lined action plan to deliver and/or consider the recommended developments and improvements.

We know many people have been negatively impacted by the July 2018 changes and the recommendations and associated actions seek to address known issues over time.

The review recommendations and associated action plan go before Council 12 December 2019. There are plans to look at how we will connect with the rest of the Wellington region in 2020. This will include Porirua, Hutt Valley, Kapiti Coast and Wairarapa.

Subscribe for Bus Network Review updates by using the Register button at the top right of this page.

Click here to view previously published reports and media releases.

CLOSED: This discussion has concluded.

If you have any questions for our team about the Drop-In Workshops or Online Survey, please submit them below. 

Your question may be answered publicly, but please be aware that all questions are subject to our Forum Etiquette and Moderation Rules. Please read them before submitting your question, we want this space to be constructive and respectful.

If you prefer your question to be answered privately, let us know in your question.

We’ll do our best to respond within 48 hours (depending on the technicality of what you ask) and within normal working week hours.


  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    It's good that the 18e was introduced so that people from Karori can go to the hospital. It would be excellent if there was one that left earlier in the morning as many people who work at the hospital have shifts that start at 8am or earlier.

    Hannah asked about 1 year ago

    Hi Hannah,

    Thanks for that feedback, I'll pass this on to the team to be considered as part of the review. On Friday the 23rd of August (This Friday) there will be a drop-in workshop at the Newtown Community Centre, it'd be great if you (or anyone who lives/works in the area) could make it to give your point of view. The online survey is also going live on Friday the 23rd, for anyone who can't make it in person (the online survey will be closing on the 22nd of September). There are also drop-in workshops in the Western and Northern suburbs coming up in late August/mid September.  
    Details of drop-ins are on the right of the Bus Network Review page under key dates.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    The Number #31 used to be a super reliable EXPRESS service, it has definitely improved by adding the double deckers but now stops twice in Hataitai meaning that its no longer Express and take the same time as any other service into the city, are there plans to make this an Express service again by removing these 2 stops?

    SReading asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens online today at 7pm, or the Drop-in Workshop dates are on the right of this page.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I would like to support Eva's comments on the #30. I would also like to add some comments on the #28 service. The morning service is excellent as it has been replaced by a taxi van. The drivers on the afternoon/evening service are so intent to keep to time that they seem to miss the point that the whole point of the #28 is to be a connector to the #30. About twice a week I am stuck at the Strathmore shops for 20 minutes when the #28 leaves "on time" rather than waiting for the #30. It is not helped by the fact that sometimes up to three #30s are at the Strathmore shops at once. Before the changes the drivers on the #30 used to alert the #28 drivers when they were approaching, is this something that could be reinstated?

    helen.eglinton asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    There should be a 30x or 31x around the 4pm time. Seems like a big gap

    nermash.ramji asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    Students who live in Khandllah arent getting the buses we need. I catch the 24 and every day the bus either comes late, is cancelled or is too full that it passes me. I have no other options, I already have to walk from harbour park terrace to the bus stop which is too far to go home and back every time the bus doesn't come. I live way too far away from the trains so what am I supposed to do. You have completely disregarded our side of khandallah and just keep giving more buses to the ngaio side which already had enough before. Everyone is complaining about their suburbs but our bus system was terrible before Metlink took over and is now even worse after. My school won't provide us with school buses so what am I supposed to do?

    student, khandallah asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    When will a bus stop be put in in lyall parade - half way between onepu rd and the warehouse. Its a long walk in rsin to nearest one

    Ev asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens online on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    It would be wonderful if you could restore the old route of the N0 23 so that it once again goes through the city to the hospital. This should not be a problem after the Golden Mile becomes car free. Since the changeover, my partner, who has mobility problems, and I have been using our car much more. Before it was easy to go into town or to hospital appointments. Now it means having to go to the Railway Station hub and then get another bus. That's not so bad, although the changeover is difficult for my partner, as there are usually buses enough at the railway but the problem is coming home when it is so difficult to catch a connecting bus at the Station and rather than being faced with a long wait and all the getting on and off for my partner, we tend to take the car.

    Joan W asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    When will peak time services restart on the number 20 route? Both morning and evening peak hour services are appalling for working commuters. For example currently 0710 0740, 0840 then 1005- this is significantly different number of options from pre July 2018 options! Also the route terminating and commencing at Courtney Place has proved to be erratic for departures- shows on the electronic board but then never arrives and the electronic message disappears- appalling. I have completely stopped taking number 20 into Courtney Place as catching a connection has been a struggle at the hub connection due to people stampeding to the bus- I have also got on the wrong bus- it is a shambles.

    Jane Overton asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    The 23 route still seem's to be somewhat dysfunctional. I watch empty bus after empty bus doing the rounds while the direct route (27) to town is often overloaded and too infrequent. Seems like x3 (empty) 23 busses for every overloaded 27 in the mornings. Could some of those empty 23's be utilised as 27's instead. Seems a waste of resource to be running so empty and so frequently. Also can you explain why there are often 3 or 4 no 7's arriving at the Kingston shops within 10 minutes of each other around 6pm, aagin seems a waster of busses that could be better employed on the deficient routes ...i.e the 27

    Richard Allen asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Southern suburbs (including Kingston) drop in dates are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Share on Facebook Share on Twitter Share on Linkedin Email this link

    I echo the sentiments of Simon Cocks post below. The impact of the changes to Karori buses was the same. In particular longer times, due to changing bus, or a less frequent direct service through to Newtown, where the hospital is. Also there was a minimum 26% increase in charges for beneficaries, going from a $2.50 cash fare to $3.15 on Snapper. The cash fare is ludicrously even higher.

    Aaron Oliver asked over 1 year ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Western suburbs (including Karori) are still being finalised but expected to be in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.