Bus Network Review

It has been a year since we made some major changes to Wellington city's bus transport network.

As with any project of this size, it’s usual to review outcomes to check how we did against key objectives, what we learned and what still needs to happen.

We're listening.

Metlink has been holding drop-in workshops around Wellington to get your view on how changes to the City Bus Network are working for you.

Thanks to everyone who gave feedback. Your input is incredibly valuable.

If you didn’t make a drop-in workshop, you can still have your say through the online survey below.

The online survey for all suburbs is open until Sunday 22 September 2019.


Subscribe for Bus Network Review updates by using the Register button at the top right of this page.

We will keep you updated of results as they are released. There might also be more questions we need specific answers too - so please register for updates.

It has been a year since we made some major changes to Wellington city's bus transport network.

As with any project of this size, it’s usual to review outcomes to check how we did against key objectives, what we learned and what still needs to happen.

We're listening.

Metlink has been holding drop-in workshops around Wellington to get your view on how changes to the City Bus Network are working for you.

Thanks to everyone who gave feedback. Your input is incredibly valuable.

If you didn’t make a drop-in workshop, you can still have your say through the online survey below.

The online survey for all suburbs is open until Sunday 22 September 2019.


Subscribe for Bus Network Review updates by using the Register button at the top right of this page.

We will keep you updated of results as they are released. There might also be more questions we need specific answers too - so please register for updates.

If you have any questions for our team about the Drop-In Workshops or Online Survey, please submit them below. 

Your question may be answered publicly, but please be aware that all questions are subject to our Forum Etiquette and Moderation Rules. Please read them before submitting your question, we want this space to be constructive and respectful.

If you prefer your question to be answered privately, let us know in your question.

We’ll do our best to respond within 48 hours (depending on the technicality of what you ask) and within normal working week hours.


Q&A

Ajax loader transparent
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password or use a different email ID
  • It's good that the 18e was introduced so that people from Karori can go to the hospital. It would be excellent if there was one that left earlier in the morning as many people who work at the hospital have shifts that start at 8am or earlier.

    Hannah asked about 1 month ago

    Hi Hannah,

    Thanks for that feedback, I'll pass this on to the team to be considered as part of the review. On Friday the 23rd of August (This Friday) there will be a drop-in workshop at the Newtown Community Centre, it'd be great if you (or anyone who lives/works in the area) could make it to give your point of view. The online survey is also going live on Friday the 23rd, for anyone who can't make it in person (the online survey will be closing on the 22nd of September). There are also drop-in workshops in the Western and Northern suburbs coming up in late August/mid September.  
    Details of drop-ins are on the right of the Bus Network Review page under key dates.

  • The Number #31 used to be a super reliable EXPRESS service, it has definitely improved by adding the double deckers but now stops twice in Hataitai meaning that its no longer Express and take the same time as any other service into the city, are there plans to make this an Express service again by removing these 2 stops?

    SReading asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens online today at 7pm, or the Drop-in Workshop dates are on the right of this page.

  • I would like to support Eva's comments on the #30. I would also like to add some comments on the #28 service. The morning service is excellent as it has been replaced by a taxi van. The drivers on the afternoon/evening service are so intent to keep to time that they seem to miss the point that the whole point of the #28 is to be a connector to the #30. About twice a week I am stuck at the Strathmore shops for 20 minutes when the #28 leaves "on time" rather than waiting for the #30. It is not helped by the fact that sometimes up to three #30s are at the Strathmore shops at once. Before the changes the drivers on the #30 used to alert the #28 drivers when they were approaching, is this something that could be reinstated?

    helen.eglinton asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • There should be a 30x or 31x around the 4pm time. Seems like a big gap

    nermash.ramji asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Students who live in Khandllah arent getting the buses we need. I catch the 24 and every day the bus either comes late, is cancelled or is too full that it passes me. I have no other options, I already have to walk from harbour park terrace to the bus stop which is too far to go home and back every time the bus doesn't come. I live way too far away from the trains so what am I supposed to do. You have completely disregarded our side of khandallah and just keep giving more buses to the ngaio side which already had enough before. Everyone is complaining about their suburbs but our bus system was terrible before Metlink took over and is now even worse after. My school won't provide us with school buses so what am I supposed to do?

    student, khandallah asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • When will a bus stop be put in in lyall parade - half way between onepu rd and the warehouse. Its a long walk in rsin to nearest one

    Ev asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens online on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • It would be wonderful if you could restore the old route of the N0 23 so that it once again goes through the city to the hospital. This should not be a problem after the Golden Mile becomes car free. Since the changeover, my partner, who has mobility problems, and I have been using our car much more. Before it was easy to go into town or to hospital appointments. Now it means having to go to the Railway Station hub and then get another bus. That's not so bad, although the changeover is difficult for my partner, as there are usually buses enough at the railway but the problem is coming home when it is so difficult to catch a connecting bus at the Station and rather than being faced with a long wait and all the getting on and off for my partner, we tend to take the car.

    Joan W asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • When will peak time services restart on the number 20 route? Both morning and evening peak hour services are appalling for working commuters. For example currently 0710 0740, 0840 then 1005- this is significantly different number of options from pre July 2018 options! Also the route terminating and commencing at Courtney Place has proved to be erratic for departures- shows on the electronic board but then never arrives and the electronic message disappears- appalling. I have completely stopped taking number 20 into Courtney Place as catching a connection has been a struggle at the hub connection due to people stampeding to the bus- I have also got on the wrong bus- it is a shambles.

    Jane Overton asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Drop in dates for other suburbs are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • The 23 route still seem's to be somewhat dysfunctional. I watch empty bus after empty bus doing the rounds while the direct route (27) to town is often overloaded and too infrequent. Seems like x3 (empty) 23 busses for every overloaded 27 in the mornings. Could some of those empty 23's be utilised as 27's instead. Seems a waste of resource to be running so empty and so frequently. Also can you explain why there are often 3 or 4 no 7's arriving at the Kingston shops within 10 minutes of each other around 6pm, aagin seems a waster of busses that could be better employed on the deficient routes ...i.e the 27

    Richard Allen asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Southern suburbs (including Kingston) drop in dates are still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • I echo the sentiments of Simon Cocks post below. The impact of the changes to Karori buses was the same. In particular longer times, due to changing bus, or a less frequent direct service through to Newtown, where the hospital is. Also there was a minimum 26% increase in charges for beneficaries, going from a $2.50 cash fare to $3.15 on Snapper. The cash fare is ludicrously even higher.

    Aaron Oliver asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Western suburbs (including Karori) are still being finalised but expected to be in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • You state "the old bus network was straining at the seams and was not meeting growing demand". I'm not convinced this is true - would it have not simply be easier to continue the old routes but with more buses/double deckers? The change of routes has been a huge inconvenience for people, especially in Northland when previously a 10 minute trip going through Willis Street now results in a 30 minute trip on 2 buses to travel the same distance.

    simon.cocks asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Western suburbs (including Northland) are still be finialised but expected to be in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • When are you going to resolve your drastic shortage of drivers? I live in Breaker Bay and have always caught the 7.24am #30 from Moa point - in recent weeks it has been cancelled up to twice a week on a regular basis - which impacts hugely on those of us who still catch the bus - there are now people who know they can't rely on the bus service and have stopped using it.

    Eva, Breaker Bay asked 2 months ago

    We know there have been some operational issues and bus cancellations due to a shortage of drivers with this bus route. We are working really hard with our supplier bus companies to help them recruit more drivers.

    It would be great if when the online survey for the Eastern suburbs is open, that you could tell us how the 30 route and frequencies are going for you. We want to know the good and the bad so we don’t change anything that is working well with the design of the bus network.

    If you sign up for project updates we will remind you when the survey goes live.


  • Why does bus stop 6921 at the corner of Horner St in Newtown exist? There is no corresponding North-bound stop, and South-bound stops either side are only 100m or so away. Why do the 23e from Houghton Bay and the 23e from the Zoo run so close together? Could they all be run from Houghton Bay and timing spaced out more evenly?

    AB83 asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Southern suburbs (including Houghton Bay) drop in dates is still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • When is the Brooklyn Drop In for the Kowhai Park service and Brooklyn Hub issues? Thanks

    Louise asked 2 months ago

    Southern suburb drop-ins are still being finalised but expected to be in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • I live in Island Bay near the start of the no.1 and no.32 routes. When the system is under pressure, changes appear on the app, the live web timetable, and the bus stop boards far too late to be useful (useful for anything other than building frustration). Is there any way you can better predict these situations for more timely notification of changes?

    MJF asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Southern suburbs (including Island Bay) drop in dates is still to be finalised, but expected in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Cyclists in the bus lane at peak times (in particular Adelaide Rd): I appreciate there is no where else for them to safely ride but this means the commute time for bus loads of passengers is at the mercy of the pace of the cyclist. Can your improvement actions include remedies for this issue too by working with relevant organisations. Take into account solutions to associated commuting issues for bus passengers (and cyclists)

    Megan asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Southern suburbs (including Newtown) are still be finialised but expected to be in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Getting from the city to Wilton is a mission. I try and catch the 21 from town and then the connecting 22 from Kelburn to Pembroke Road. There is only one number 22 bus driver that waits for the 21 at night, and no one ever waits during the day. These buses almost never match up and I have to walk the 30 minutes the rest of the way home. On days when it's raining and not worth the risk of missing the connection I catch the 14 and then have to walk for 10 minutes up hill in the rain. Can the 21 and 22 always wait for each other for those wanting to catch the connections.

    ZCB asked 2 months ago

    This is exactly the kind of feedback we're after. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey online.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July. Western suburbs (including Wilton) drop-in dates are still being finalised but expected to be in August/September.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Your hub model doesn't work due to your services being continually late and cancelled at peak times. Taking one bus is a big waste of time and very slow on its own, let alone having to transfer to another bus for a measly journey of 3km, and having to gamble on 2 BUSES showing up at all and not just one. At this point you'd be better to ensure people can get to the CBD from whatever bus stop they get on and not have to transfer to another bus, waste a whole lot of their day, and gamble on whether the second bus will even arrive (when half the time the first one doesn't even show up either).

    Celia asked 2 months ago

    Thank you for this feedback, it is just the type of input we need. It would be really valuable if you are able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey on line.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Will the old 2 Miramar and old 11 Seatoun be split avoiding over crowding. Will there be a bus reinstated to pass TePapa for our visitors. No 12 should go further than Kilbirnie. No 20 should go further than Courtney Place.

    Trevor Guilbert asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey on line.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • Why persist with a timetable that is not working - 1) reduce the number of scheduled services and bring them up as/if recruitment fills the gaps , 2) add bigger buses on heavily used routes

    Donald asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey on line.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July.

    Please sign up for project updates so we will keep you informed about when the drop-ins and online surveys open.

  • For some routes the new hub model doesn't appear to be working, and services are plagued by continually late or cancelled services at peak times. Who is responsible for this and what kinds of changes are they going to make to ensure that services are monitored and run at a regular schedule.

    caffeineinc asked 2 months ago

    This is just the type of input we need. Are you able to attend one of the neighbourhood drop-ins or if not fill in a survey on line.

    The Eastern suburbs survey opens on Friday 12 July.

    Please sign up for project updates and we will keep you informed on your nearest drop-in.

  • Why, almost a year later do bus drivers still continue to drive incorrect routes?

    caffeineinc asked 2 months ago

    If this is happening to you, please contact the Metlink contact centre to let them know with as much detail about the route and times as possible so they can look into why this is happening.

    They can be contacted on 0800 801 700

    or fill out a feedback form: https://www.metlink.org.nz/customer-services/feedback/


  • Why aren't you operating 'express' buses on existing routes? For example, make a 3X that operates every half hour and unlike the normal 3, doesn't stop every 200 m. It would only make these stops: Train station - Cuba Street - Massey - Newtown - Kilbirnie - Lyall Bay. For those wanting to stop between, they'd simply take the normal 3, which would continue to operate. That same approach could be taken on a number of routes where the buses seem to just trudge along stop-to-stop. This approach: 1) is used internationally, and 2) could help de-clutter the CBD, and 3) would decrease the commute time

    truckindave asked 2 months ago

    Thank you. This is really great feedback.

    Are you able to fill in the online survey when it is open on Friday 12 July.

    If you sign up for project updates we will remind you when the survey goes live.


  • You state "As with any project of this size, it’s usual to review outcomes to check how we did against key objectives, what we learned and what still needs to happen" - so my question is why are you pretending that this change has gone as well as expected? Are you that disengaged? Why not just be up front about it instesad of the PR spin that just annoys people and convinces nobody?

    Ryan asked 2 months ago

    We know there have been some operational issues and we are working hard to fix these.  One issue being far greater bus cancellations than planned, partly based on supplier driver numbers. We are working with our supplier bus companies to resolve this with an active campaign to recruit drivers

    The old bus network was straining at the seams and was not meeting growing demand so it was important to review design.  And one year in, we want to hear from customers about what is working well with the new network design and what still needs to be fine-tuned.


  • Why can’t the number 30X buses to and from Seatoun run on time? Too many times they don’t turn up at all.

    Sally asked 2 months ago

    We know there have been some operational issues with the implementation of the new network.

    The 30X bus has suffered with cancellations due to driver numbers. We are working hard with our supplier bus companies to help them recruit more drivers.

    It would be great if when the Eastern suburbs survey is open on Friday 12 July, you could tell us how the 30X route and frequencies are going for you. We want to know the good and the bad so we don’t change anything that is working well with the design of the bus network.

    If you sign up for project updates we will keep you updated.